Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!
Friday , August 23 2019
Home / Scholarships / Masters' Scholarships / Fully-Funded Commonwealth Shared Scholarships To Study in UK, 2018/2019

Fully-Funded Commonwealth Shared Scholarships To Study in UK, 2018/2019

Application for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme for Students from Commonwealth Countries including Nigeria to study in Universities in the United Kingdom for the 2018/2019 Academic Session has commenced.

Scholarship value:

Shared Scholarships are jointly funded by the CSC and participating UK universities. The scholarship provides:

  • Approved airfare from your home country to the UK and return at the end of your award (the CSC will not reimburse the cost of fares for dependants, nor usually the cost of journeys made before your award is finally confirmed) – arranged by the university; funded by the CSC
  • Approved tuition and examination fees – funded by the CSC
  • Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,065 per month, or £1,306 per month for those studying at universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2017-2018 levels) – paid and funded by the university
  • Warm clothing allowance, where applicable – paid and funded by the university
  • Study travel grant towards the costs of study-related travel within the UK or overseas – claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC
  • Excess baggage allowance, up to an annual approved limit, when returning home – claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC
  • Reimbursement of the cost of a mandatory tuberculosis (TB) test, where required for a visa application (receipts must be supplied) – claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC

Scholarship Type: Masters

Eligible Countries: Bangladesh, Cameroon, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

To be taken at (country): Various UK Universities.

Eligibility: To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme, candidates must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2018
  • By October 2018, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

Number of Scholarships: Up to 227 scholarship positions

How to Apply

You should apply to study one of the taught Master’s courses offered in the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme.  For a full list of eligible courses, visit http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/shared-scholarships/courses

All applications must be made through your chosen university. You must check with your chosen university for their specific advice, admission requirements, and rules for applying. Some universities may require you to complete their own admissions application form as well, which may have a separate closing date. You must take the necessary steps to secure admission to your course at the same time as applying for a Shared Scholarship. For a full list of contact details, visit http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/shared-scholarships/universities

You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS), in addition to any other application that you are required to complete by your chosen university.  Information on how to use the EAS, including detailed guides, is available at http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/shared-scholarships

You can apply for more than one course and/or to more than one university, but you may only accept one offer of a Shared Scholarship.

All applications must be submitted by 23.59 (BST) on 17 April 2018 at the latest. Each university has its own closing date for applications, and most are before this date. For a full list of closing dates, visit http://cscuk.dfid.gov.uk/apply/shared-scholarships/universities

The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the EAS to your UK university, or any applications directly from individuals; such applications will not be acknowledged.

For more information on this scholarship, visit the official scholarship page.

Sponsors: UK Department for International Development (DFID), as part of the UK international development programme to developing countries, and participating institutions in the UK. The scheme is administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC).

Application Deadline: 17th April 2018

Share This Post

Get Latest Updates Via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Check Also


International Scholarship Awards At Swansea University, United Kingdom

Get Post UTME Questions & Answers The College Of Science International Awards is provided to …


  1. Great opportunity !! Im gonna share with my classmates. I am searching for scholarship and I have found at thescholarshipsblog.com but please recommend me any opportunity can anyone help me? I will be thankful.

  2. I want to enroll in this scholarship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *